Home / Africa / SANZAAR scraps controversial highlanders red card

SANZAAR scraps controversial highlanders red card



2019-02-20 09:04

Cape Town – Highlanders center Sio Tomkinson has got his red card from the Super Rugby clash on Saturday against the Chiefs demolished.

No further penalty has been imposed on the player, who will be free to play this weekend.

Tomkinson was shown a straight red by referee Glen Jackson for what was considered a shoulder charge on Brodie Retallick, who after the game said he was unharmed.

The SANZAAR judicial hearing held via videoconference on Tuesday and, in his discovery, the President Michael Heron QC ruled the
following:

"The Judicial Committee has provided a detailed overview of all available data
evidence, including all camera angles and relevant match reports.

"The
The committee has heard evidence from the player, a member of the Highlanders & # 39;
coaching of employees and received submissions from his legal representative,
Aaron Lloyd.

"The committee has postponed the hearing to continue
inquired at the competition referee and received additional information
him.

"With the benefit of this further information, the judicial
Committee was satisfied with the balance of chances that the referee
was wrong when issuing the red card.

"The Committee decided to
red card from the player's record.

"The Judicial Committee found that the player had contact with his
shoulder on the shoulder of the Chiefs player.

"After careful evaluation of the
footage, and upon receiving further evidence as above, the committee has established
that the player has not made contact with the head of the Chiefs player and he
tried to use his arm in the attempt to tackle.

"Because of the fast
change in angle of the Chiefs player and the tackle of the other Highlanders
involved player, the incident seemed more significant than that
used to be.

"The committee had the advantage of long – term analysis and review of the
images and other evidence that could determine that there was no
contact with the head by the player and no foul play. Accordingly there
was not a violation of law 9.13 or 9.16.

"The player is therefore free to play."


Source link