Google assumes that it checks users who have disabled Location History



Google


Just a few days ago, an investigation by the Associated Press showed that Google continues to track users' mobile phones even after turning off the "Location History" option. The information led – and rightly so – to many delirium for many users and many people used social networks to ask Google to explain this whole story better.

The statement came, but perhaps not exactly as expected. Without bragging, the giant has the help page & # 39; Location History & # 39; updated today, making it clear that disabling the option does not prevent the device from being crawled.

While the previous text said that if Location History is dropped, sites visited by the user are not saved in Google files, the update of today (16) modifies the message and explains that this configuration does not change all monitoring services of the device, thus making it clear that user activity can be stored as information in the ma-apps pass and Google search. The change occurs three days after the Associated Press's warning about location data.

This does not mean that it is impossible to completely disable the trace of your mobile phone; it's just a bit trickier than just turning off Location History. That is why we have developed a step-by-step way of preventing your location data from being stored, so that you can stay calm without being followed at all times.

Source: Boing Boing, CBS News

Did you like this story?

Enter your e-mail address to Canaltech for daily updates with the latest technology news.


Source link

Leave a Reply