Kevin Garinger resigns as president of Humboldt Broncos

Kevin Garinger leaves his role as president of the Humboldt Broncos of the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League.

Garinger, 50, refused re-election as a team president prior to a Tuesday vote by the board of directors. He took on the role of volunteer to help the team in the run-up to the SJHL-season 2017-18, but was put in the role of spokesman after the 6 April crash of Broncos, in which 16 people were killed and 13 wounded.

"It was a pleasure and an honor to serve the Humboldt Broncos as president, and I look forward to staying involved as a board member and staying aboard.It is now time for me to get my attention back to other areas of my life. focus on life and make sure that I do the best job in all their aspects, I want to thank everyone who has now stepped up to fill the board and join them to support the new president if he or she continues with those responsibilities, "he said in a press release.

The team announced a new board of directors on Wednesday morning. Jamie Brockman becomes the new president of the club, with Maury Simoneau as vice-president and Curtis Wacker in the function of treasurer. Lee Dufort, Regan Kelly, Andre Kruger and Sheila Cochrane were elected as new directors.

"Prior to the AGM, I made a decision that I would give my name to become a member of Humboldt Broncos' board of directors," said Brockman, who chaired the organization from 2012 to August 2017, in a release. "I have experience with my previous five years on the board who can and will help to advance this organization."

Brockman said he has a lot of confidence in the new board. With the appointment of new directors, it is the first time in the history of the team that the Humboldt Broncos have a full board.

Team treasurer Darrin Duell also refused to pursue a new term, but will remain director of the board until next year. He also remains president of the Humboldt Broncos Memorial Fund Inc. and the Humboldt Strong Community Foundation.

With files from CKOM

[email protected]

On Twitter: @CharleneTebbutt

Source link

Leave a Reply