UEFA unveiled the names of the nominees for Europe & # 39; s player of the year for the 2017 – 2018 season | International football

The Croatian Luka Modric, the Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo and the Egyptian Mohamed Salah are the players nominated for the player of the year award of the UEFA 2017/18, reported the European Football Association.

The winner will be announced during the ceremony on August 30, the day of the draw for the group stage of the Champions League.

The list of nominees was selected by a jury consisting of 80 coaches from the clubs who participated last season in the group stage of the Champions & # 39; and the Europa League, along with 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Group (ESM), which represents each of the Uefa federations.

They had to make a list of three players, with five, three and one point for each of them respectively. The end result is the reflection of the total number of votes cast by coaches and journalists.

The coaches could not vote for players from their own team.

Those who received more votes, in alphabetical order, were Modric from Madrid, his former team-mate Cristiano Ronaldo, now with Juventus, and Liverpool FC-star Salah.

Modric and Cristiano Ronaldo won the Champions League for the third consecutive year with the Madrid side.

The Croatian then won the second place in the world with his national team and was named best Russian player in 2018.

The Portuguese striker, who for the fifth time the Champions & # 39; achieved, was for the sixth consecutive year the top scorer of the competition.

Finally, Salah reached the final with Liverpool, whose injury was ultimately decisive.

More nominees

They completed the & # 39; top 10 & # 39; in the vote Antoine Griezmann (Atlético de Madrid and France / 72 points), Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina / 55), Kylian Mbappé (PSG and France / 43), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium / 28 points), Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid and France / 23), Eden Hazard (Chelsea and Belgium / 15) and Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid and Spain / 12).

Similarly, the aspiring goalkeepers of the season are the Brazilian Alisson Becker (Roma / Liverpool) and the Italian Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus / PSG)

Real Madrid's Marcelo, Sergio Ramos and Raphaël Varane strive to defend the campaign; his teammates Modric and Toni Kroos, together with De Bruyne as midfielder; Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Salah forward.

Finally, the athletes Diego Godín and Griezmann and Dimitri Payet (Olympique Marseille) strive for the best of the Europa League, a tournament that won the box from Diego Simeone.

For the women's prize, the nominees are the Danish Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg), the Norwegian Ada Hegerberg (Olympique Lyon) and the French Amandine Henry (Olympique Lyon).

Source link

Leave a Reply