Samarth, Abhimanyu, was the strong answer of India-A-SPORT

R. Samarth (83, 126b, 8×4) and Abhimanyu Easwaran (86, 165b, 10×4) led the strong India-A response to the 346-run total of Australia-A, ending on day two at 223 for three in the second unofficial & # 39; Test & # 39; on the Alur ground near here on Sunday.

There will, however, be some disappointment that the two did not continue to make bigger scores that were as good as they seemed during the 174-run first wicket stand.


The Karnataka batter was the first to fall out of the trap by Ashton Agar. Eight balls later Abhimanyu was on the run from the non-striker and after a direct hit by field player Marnus Labuschagne. It was the result of a change after Captain Shreyas seemed to ask Iyer for a point to come back later.

At the end of the day, the in-form batsman lost Ankeet Bawane, killed in the first slip off leggie Mitchell Swepson. The burden of proof will now be on Shreyas (30) and Shubman Gill (13), the batsmen who led India to stumps, to take advantage of the healthy foundation laid by the openers.

Samarth and Abhimanyu did not really send the Aussie bowlers to a leather yacht. The two confiscated only 18 boundaries between them. But they still flourished, partly because of their excellent salad rotation.

The speedsters punctured them with short deliveries and Samarth even looked uncomfortable more than once. But the duo feasted on everything that is full.

In spite of the incessant sun, Australia-A, everything fell on by having men caught. But it still could not sniff the Indian batsmen. The few times they caused a false blow, the ball fell into the no man's land. Abhimanyu survived two such chances, which later in his innings slid to the empty first slip zone.

Earlier, in the first session, visitors added 56 runs to their total overnight stay.

Mitchell Marsh completed his well-deserved century (113, 204b, 16×4, 1×6), while Kuldeep Yadav cleared the tail to end with figures of five to 91.

The scores:

Australia-A – 1st innings: Matt Renshaw b Gurbani 0, Kurtis Patterson b Nadeem 48, Travis Head st Bharat b Kuldeep 68, Peter Handscomb b Nadeem 8, Mitchell Marsh 113 no, Marnus Labuschagne c Chahar b Kuldeep 0, Ashton Agar b Gowtham 23, Michael Neser c Shreyas b Nadeem 44, Chris Tremain b Kuldeep 16, Mitchell Swepson c Bharat b Kuldeep 4, Brendan Doggett c Shreyas b Kuldeep 8; Extra & # 39; s (1b-8, w-1, nb-5): 14; Total (in 109 overs): 346.

Fall of wickets: 1-3, 2-95, 3-125, 4-136, 5-140, 6-180, 7-290, 8-322, 9-328.

India – A bowling: Chahar 13-2-40-0; Gurbani 16-2-57-1, Gowtham 21-7-60-1; Kuldeep 27-3-91-5, Nadeem 32-9-90-3.

India-A – 1st innings: R. Samarth lbw b Agar 83, Abhimanyu Easwaran from 86, Shreyas Iyer (battle) 30, Ankeet Bawane c Renshaw b Swepson 13, Shubman Gill (batter) 6; Extra & # 39; s (w-1, nb-4): 5; Total (for three wkts in 70 overs): 223.

Fall of wickets: 1-174, 2-176, 3-217.

Australia – A bowling: Tremain 8-2-10-0, Doggett 7-0-43-0, Agar 23-8-41-1, Neser 6-0-16-0, Swepson 17-0-61-1, Marsh 5-0-26-0, Head 4-0-26-0.

Source link

Leave a Reply