Balakong interim elections: Straight fight between Pakatan Harapan and MCA – BorneoPost Online | Borneo, Malaysia, Sarawak Daily News

Wong (left) with Tan after nomination in Hulu Langat District and Land Office. – Bernama photo

BANGI: The interim election of the Balakong, held on 8 September, will witness a direct battle between Pakatan Harapan (PH) and MCA.

PH, who uses his own logo for the first time, introduces Wong Siew Ki, of DAP, while the candidate for MCA is a businessman Tan Chee Teong.

The state election was named after the death of his incumbent assembler Eddie Ng Tien Chee in a traffic accident last July 20

The nomination results were announced by the returning officer Datuk Rosli Othman at about 10:30 in the Hulu Langat District and the Land Office.

The nomination was opened at 9.00 and closed one hour later.

Earlier, nearly 500 supporters from both parties gathered at 7.30 a.m. in the Hulu Langat District Office area in a show of support to their respective candidates.

Wong, 32 was sent by PH supporters, led by Finance, to the nomination center Minister and DAP Secretary General Lim Guan Eng and Transport Minister Anthony Loke, who is also DAP National Organizing Secretary.

She filed her nomination paper at 9.13 am.

Her nomination was presented by Kajang Baru DAP chairman Sia Wei Shien and seconded by DAP member Lim Chin Yuan.

Meanwhile, Tan, 40, was accompanied by candidate supporters, Vice President Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong and Vice President Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun.

Tan filed his nomination paper at 9:00 am

His appointment was presented by Cheras Batu 11 branch manager Lim Chin Wah and seconded by Kwantong Baru industry leader Ng Hock Hai.

For the first time since the founding of the Alliance and then the Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition in 1974, MCA has contested its own ticket and uses its own logo.

A few supporters from Umno, MIC and Gerakan were also seen in the group to give their support to the MCA candidate.

In the last general election, N g, of DAP, BN candidate Lim Chin Wah and Mohamad Ibrahim Ghazali, defeated, with a majority of 35,538 votes.

Ng secured 41,768 votes, while Lim and Mohamad Ibrahim gained 5,875 and 6,230 votes respectively. – Bernama

What do you think of this story?

  • Angry ( 0% )

  • Sad ( 0% [19659021])

  • Nothing ([19659020] 0% ) [19659028] Interesting ([19659020] 0% ) [19659031] Large ( 0% )

Source link

Leave a Reply