On this day – October 1, 1966: George Weah, former AC Milan and Chelsea striker, was born


Paul Walsh (soccer) – former Tottenham, Liverpool, Manchester City and England striker, now an expert, born in 1962.

Mark McGwire (baseball) – set a record for single-season home racing with 70 for the St. Louis Cardinals in 1998, but then allowed steroid throughout his career, born in 1963.

John Sheridan (football) – former Leeds, Sheffield Wednesday and Republic of Ireland midfielder, now the manager of League Two club Carlisle, born in 1964.

George Weah (soccer) – Liberian former AC Milan and Chelsea striker, 1995 FIFA World player of the year, born in 1966.

Phil de Glanville (rugby union) – former captain of England, born in 1968.

Ricardo Vaz Te (football) – former striker of West Ham, born in 1986.


1936: Duncan Edwards was born. Edwards made his English debut, at the age of 18, against Scotland in 1955. He died of injuries sustained in the air disaster of Munich in 1958.

1975: Joe Frazier and Muhammad Ali fought the & # 39; Thriller in Manila & # 39; for the heavyweight title of the world. Defending champion Ali emerged the winner at the end of 14 laps.

1998: Former Arsenal boss George Graham became the new manager of Tottenham.

2000: Boxer Audley Harrison won the tenth Gold Medal of Great Britain from the Sydney Olympics when he defeated Mukhtarkhan Dildabekov in the super heavyweight division in Darling Harbor.

2005: Former wing Jonah Lomu from New Zealand signed for Cardiff Blues.

2008: Northampton forward Neil Best was banned by the Rugby Football Union for 18 weeks after he had illegally admitted having made contact with the eye or James Haskell's eye zone with his hand during a Guinness Premiership game.

2009: Emmanuel Adebayor, striker of Manchester City, got a suspended ban on two matches and a £ 25,000 fine by the football association after his goal-match against the former club Arsenal.

2012: defending champion England was eliminated in the World Twenty20 after losing 19 runs to host Sri Lanka in their Super Eight game in Pallekele.

2015: Australia has canceled their tour of Bangladesh because of concerns about the safety of players after a security threat.

2016: Hull KR's 10-year stay in the Super League was ended dramatically after a 19-28 gold run defeat against Salford in the controversial Million Pound Game at the Lightstream Stadium.


1. Where is Corrigan Park GAA on the ground?

2. Give the manager of the senior football group Dublin GAA a name.

3. At what club did Jose Mourinho start his management career?

4. Which golfer won the Open Championship in 2017?

5. Who beat Leeds last year in the Betfred Super League Grand Final at Old Trafford?

(See the answers from the quiz below)

Sports on TV

Today (Monday, October 1)

FOOTBALL: Premier League, Bournemouth v Crystal Palace – Sky Sports Main Event 1900, Sky Sports Premier League 1900.

TENNIS: ATP, Japan Open – Sky Sports Main Event 0600; China Open – Sky Sports Action 0600 and 1230, Sky Sports Main Event 1230 and 0530 (di); WTA, China Open – BT Sport 1 0730 and 0530 (di).

DARTS: World Grand Prix – Sky Sports Action 1900.

SNOOKER: European Masters – Eurosport 1 1155 and 1755.

MOTORCYCLES: Speedway, Premiership playoffs – BT Sport 1 1915.

GRIDIRON: NFL, Denver Broncos against Kansas City Chiefs – Sky Sports Main Event 0130 (Tue), Sky Sports Action 0130 (Tue).

Tomorrow (Tuesday 2 October)

SOCCER: Champions League, Juventus v Young Boys – BT Sport 1 1730, Bayern Munich / Ajax – BT Sport / ESPN 1945, Manchester United against Valencia – BT Sport 2 2000; Championship, Ipswich v Middlesbrough – Sky Sports Main Event 1900.

TENNIS: ATP, China Open – Sky Sports Main Event 0600; Japan Open – Sky Sports Action 0600 and 0400 (Weds), Sky Sports Main Event 0400 (Weds); WTA, China Open – BT Sport 1 1230 and 0530 (Weds).

DARTS: World Grand Prix – Sky Sports Action 1900.

SNOOKER: European Masters – Eurosport 1 1155 and 1755.

BICYCLE: Binche-Chimay-Binche – Eurosport 2 1500.

BASEBALL: MLB, TBC v TBC – BT Sport / ESPN 0100 (Weds).

QUICK QUIZ answers 1. Belfast; 2. Jim Gavin; 3. Benfica; 4. Jordan Spieth; 5. Castleford

Source link